Malta Tourism Authority

Originally won as an international pitch, competing against 40 other global agencies, Oliver Ireland has been partnering with the Malta Tourism Authority since 2017, managing a broad range of requirements for the brand. From an initial identity refresh to creating globally transcreated campaigns, we have helped the organisation strengthen its reputation, delivering a strong visual expression, identifying the geography, culture and people. But visitor data gathered in 2019 identified a distinct shift in tourism at a global level. Driven by quick-changing visitor expectations, the sunseeker trends were shifting and the destination brand of Malta was losing touch

Brand Development and Solution

There’s such an array of countries, cities and regions out there that have been hugely successful in creating a unique space from which to engage and draw people in. Like any brand, places must identify a unique value proposition that will get people excited about living or visiting there.

Malta needed to reposition itself in the mind of its audience. In order to help it stand apart and and amplify its appeal, the brand had to put itself in the hands of those who visit, appealing to them to share their unique perspectives and experiences. Such an approach would illustrate the islands’ wide appeal in an honest and real way that would speak to the new generation of tourist, while proving the country’s worth for returning families, couples and friends.

Under the new theme, More to Explore, Malta now incorporates a strong point of view style, giving the brand a new lease of life with a refreshing honesty and tonnes of appeal. The ‘hand-held camera’ nature of imagery gives the audience a sneak peak into real experiences and moments. In doing so, we avoid the bland beach scenes and overly stylised settings.

The imagery taps into the diverse history of the islands, its culture, its people, and the ever changing landscape of the islands themselves.

To build on this new market position, we are presently building a site dedicated to gathering all the influencers, brand ambassadors, everyday holiday makers and collecting their photography and footage, seen through their eyes and capturing their best holiday moments. The Malta Filmhub site will be a curation of the best POV moments that bring the islands to life and instil and bring an air of

excitement and anticipation for those yet to visit.

Global Campaigns

Italy

Portugal

Switzerland

Austria

The Outcome

The refreshed identity is now spearheaded by a clear market position, a definitive understanding of the visitor types and a unique visual approach that sets the brand of Malta apart from the rest of the Mediterranean competition in the eyes of the customer. With a full endorsement from the Maltese government, the new positioning will now be implemented across all promotional engagement across the globe.

PPC campaigns

Our Clients

Our global hubs and offices

Europe

Ireland

Unit 2, Lee Road
Glasnevin
D11 HN92

Dublin@oliver.agency

UK London

151 Rosebery Avenue
London
EC1R 4AB

London@oliver.agency

UK Bournemouth

Holland House
St Paul’s Place
BH8 8GG

Bournemouth@oliver.agency

France

Sant Lazare
26-28 rue de Londres
Paris 75009

Paris@oliver.agency

Netherlands

Amsterdam Atrium
Strawinskylaan 3051
1077 ZX Amsterdam

Amsterdam@oliver.agency

Germany

Bahnhofplatz 6
Erlangen 91054
Germany

Erlangen@oliver.agency

Czech Republic

Building G
BB Centrum
140 00 Prague 4

Prague@oliver.agency

North & South America

New York

578 Broadway FL7
New York
NY 10012

NewYork@oliver.agency

San Francisco

95 Bluxome Street
San Francisco
94107

SanFrancisco@oliver.agency

Canada

160 Bloor St E
Toronto
ON, M4W 3R2

Toronto@oliver.agency

Brazil

Alameda Santos, 1000
5th Floor – San Paulo
01418-902

SanPaulo@oliver.agency

Asia

Shanghai

3rd Floor
888 Huashan Road
Shanghai

China@oliver.agency

Hong Kong

5/F Central Plaza
18 Harbour Road
Wan Chai

HongKong@oliver.agency

Singapore

46 Kim Yam Road
The Herencia
#03-19 Singapore 239351

Singapore@oliver.agency

Africa & The Middle East

Dubai

Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Road
Burjuman Business Tower
18th Floor

Dubai@oliver.agency

Kuala Lumpur

Surian Tower, Level 4
Unit 4,1,1, Jalan PJU 7/3
Mutiara Damansara, 47820
Petaling Jaya, Selangor

KualaLumpur@oliver.agency

Istanbul

Büyükdere Cad. No: 201
Levent Loft Residence D:132
34394 Levent

Istanbul@oliver.agency

Johannesburg

Building B, 2nd Floor
New Market Road
Northlands Corner Retail Centre
Northriding 2162

Johannesburg@oliver.agency